Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care Level 3


  • 16-18 (Full-time), Adults
  • 3 days a week in college, 1 day work or placement hours per week
  • A1251-24
  • 2 September 2024 - 36 weeks
  • Wembley Park Campus
  • 16-18: no charge, Standard: £7,395


This a two-year course. 
Core units
The core units within this qualification ensure that all learners will develop knowledge that underpins learning in other units in the qualification:
Mandatory units
The mandatory units within this qualification ensure that all learners will develop practical and vocational skills:
Optional specialist units
The optional specialist units gives learners the opportunity to pursue more specialist interests. These units may be selected to:
● provide learners with the opportunity to gain knowledge and understanding in more specialist areas of interest: for example child development and observation, sociology and psychology
● deepen and enhance practical application of vocational skills:
For example, by developing their basic first-aid, food safety, infection control skills, principles of safe practice and working in health and social care, understanding public health and mental health, and current research, which are highly valued in the health and social care sector. Learners will gain direct experience of the health and social care sector, giving them the opportunity to apply the learning they have gleaned from other units and to develop knowledge, skills and understanding further within different health and social care settings.

Aims of the qualification 

• the Pearson btec national extended diploma in health and social care is intended as an applied general qualification. It is for post-16 learners who want to continue their education through applied learning and who aim to progress to higher education and ultimately to employment in the health and social care sector. The qualification is equivalent in size to three a levels.
• the qualification develops a deep common core of knowledge, understanding and skills in the sector through mandatory content. It allows learners to focus on a particular aspect of the sector through a selection of optional units, including a route that focuses specifically on health studies.
• provide a comprehensive and challenging programme of study related to health and social care that is particularly suited to post-16 learners who have the relevant interest and aptitude to progress in the sector.
• all btec nationals provide transferable knowledge and skills that prepare learners for progression to university. The transferable skills that universities value include: the ability to learn independently; the ability to research actively and methodically; and to be able to give presentations and be active group members.
• btec learners can also benefit from opportunities for deep learning where they are able to make connections among units and select areas of interest for detailed study. Btec nationals provide a vocational context in which learners can develop the knowledge and skills required for particular degree courses, including: reading technical texts; effective writing; analytical skills; preparation for assessment methods used in degrees.

Course content

Module delivery includes
*unit 1 - human lifespan development
* unit 3 - anatomy and physiology for health and social care
* unit 7 - principles of safe practice in health and social care
* unit 8 - promoting public health
* unit 19 - nutritional health
* unit 20 - understanding mental wellbeing
* unit 2 - working in health and social care
*unit 4 - enquiries into current research in hsc
* unit 5 - meeting individual care needs and support
* unit 6 - work experience in health and social care
* unit 10 - sociological perspectives
* unit 11 - psychological perspectives
* unit 18 - assessing children’s development support needs

Whilst some units above are mandatory others may change subject to awarding body specification or teacher skill set

  • What qualification do I get on completing this course?
    BTEC Level 3 Diploma
  • Where have students gone to after completing this course?
    Level 4
  • Is there additional work required by the student?
    The Pearson btec level 3 extended diploma in health and social care includes three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic. External assessment means each assessment is taken under specified conditions, then marked by Pearson and a grade awarded, e.G. Exams. Most units in the sector are internally assessed and subject to external standards verification. This means that teachers set and assess the assignments that provide the final summative assessment of each unit, using the examples and support that Pearson provides. Synoptic assessment requires learners to demonstrate that they can identify and use effectively, in an integrated way, an appropriate selection of skills, techniques, concepts, theories and knowledge from across the whole sector as relevant to a key task. The mandatory synoptic unit requires learners to apply learning from across the qualification to the completion of a defined vocational task. For unit 4: enquiries into current research in health and social care, learners complete a research commentary based on a pre-released article and their secondary research, drawing together their knowledge and understanding of working practices and provision of services. Learners complete the task using knowledge and understanding from their studies of the sector and apply both transferable and specialist knowledge and skills.
  • What are the expected employment areas with this course?
    Health Care
  • What are the Entry Requirements?
    English & maths at level 2 / GCSE or working towards this level A full level 2 vocational qualification or 3-5 GCSEs at grades 4/c or above (may include English & maths)